Dynamics and movement – a love story

March 7, 2013 § 72 Comments

Futurism has always been one of my favorite artistic movement.   I remember the first time I went to an exhibition of Umberto Boccioni: I was a little child, my father  – a true art lover – drove me there. In front of each work he spoke for hours about every details, talking about the “philosophy” of the artist and the deep impact the movement had on the italian culture of that period. I didn’t listen at all, but I was so raptured by all those strange compositions, with fabulous colors and dynamics, that when I started with photography I tried to recreate with my camera the emotions I felt that day.

_DSC5277_2

Dynamism_of_a_Dog_on_a_Leash

One of the goals of futurism was to capture movement and dynamics. Note that artists like Balla were strong influenced by photography as well. Combining panning with long exposures gave me some good results. (above: Dynamism of a Dog on a Leash compared to a photo by me)

600px-Umberto_Boccioni_-_Visioni_simultanee

r006

Above: Umberto Boccioni – visioni simultanee compared to a shot taken in a station by me

I think the way futurism inspired me in these shots is quite clear; nevertheless it was unconscious to me untill some days ago, when I stumbled on this post  by Leanne Cole . Reading his experience made me realize everything.. Ex abrupto, but definitely!

Another way I tried to get some results is with multiple-exposure

russoloriv

_DSC2436_5

Above you can see a comparison between Luigi Russolo The revolt and a shot made up with 3 exposures. This is an in camera technique, no post editing needed. And of course I also tried with portraits. Down here you have a photo of mine (double exp in) with the work of Boccioni Dynamism of a man’s head

ritratto1

512

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 72 Responses to Dynamics and movement – a love story

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Dynamics and movement – a love story at AndrBov.

meta

